Posted by rtetzloff 
All files from this thread

File Name File Size   Posted by Date  
social_share_1.png 39 KB open | download rtetzloff 08/15/2012 Read message
social_share_1.0.zip 9.7 KB open | download rtetzloff 08/15/2012 Read message
Module: Social Media Sharing
August 15, 2012 06:16AM
Hello,

Because I couldn't find anything that performed this function, I created a simple module that will share posts to social network sites. It is currently limited to Twitter, Facebook, and Google+. This module creates links on the post pages that allow you to share a post to the respective sites. It does NOT provide Like or +1 functionality, as I didn't really think this was particularly useful for this. I doubt that it's well written. I'm not really a programmer, but I've done a little with Phorum in the past, and I wanted to add this functionality to my phorum installation.

It does require adding a hook to the template, at least that's the only way I could figure out how to do what I wanted. You can use it to add social network links in individual posts or entire threads currently.

I'd like to create an easy way to manage the social networks that can be used and a way to add the links to the list pages. Perhaps someday I will make some changes to add these features. I don't spend a lot of time with this, so I can't see when or if that will be possible. If anyone wants to make changes to support these features, feel free to do so.

README:

Social Media Sharing Module

Instructions:

1. Install module into mods directory.
2. Make necessary changes to read.tpl, read_hybrid.tpl, and read_threads.tpl (Emerald based templates):

read.tpl, read_hybrid.tpl
   -------------------------

** To create the social links in the individual message boxes next to the reply/quote buttons
   Find:
   {IF MESSAGES->URL->REPORT}<a class="icon icon-exclamation" href="{MESSAGES->URL->REPORT}">{LANG->Report}</a>{/IF}

On a new line after this, add:
   {HOOK "social_share" MESSAGES}