Firefox PHP

Installation documentation

Posted by Jackson 
Installation documentation
January 29, 2002 12:22PM
First let me start by saying I think Phorum is an outstanding product. It is exactly what I wanted in a message board app. However the installation documentation is not good at all. I have been a wedmaster for about 3 years. I could not install it to save my life. =)

Luckily I am good friends with my server admin and he was able to install it after about 6 hours. He said the installation instructions were the reason it took so long. I am a Network Engineer and although I understood all the terminology used, I was unable to even begin to grasp what the installation documentation was saying.

I was able to make the changes to phorum settings and then you completely lost me. I think there needs to be more instructions after the phorum settings and starting the installation. Not everyone knows this stuff by heart. I have the same problem sometimes when I am explaining outages to customers. I think if you can "keep it simple" (well as smple as possible anyway), the installation would be possible without the server admin getting involved (most people can't even contact theirs, let alone get their help).

Other than that, I love Phorum and plan to use it on all my websites. I will be sending a donation forthwith and keep up the good work!

-Jackson
Webmaster DreamsUnderground.com
I am also having a hard time with the installation instruction provided in the /docs directory. I am trying to install this phorum with MySQL do you have any installation procedure (notes) that you have from the installation to run this forum script. Would it be possible if I could get these document email to me.
Thanks
<b>Re: Installation documentation</b>
February 05, 2002 10:16AM
<HTML>just follow install.txt.</HTML>

Re: Installation documentation
February 06, 2002 07:35PM