Firefox PHP

No "official" integration tutorial anywhere??

Posted by tobefound 
No "official" integration tutorial anywhere??
January 28, 2010 06:41AM
Hi guys,

Phorum seems like a great and clean piece of forum app!

But I must say, where are the docs for integration? Sure, there is an API and a dev doc but they target experienced Phorum hackers if you ask me (or focus a lot on MODs). I'm a quite seasoned programmer and of course, I can dig through the forums to find things out, now I'm simply curious as to why there are no official integration documentation?

For example, phorum has a beatiful API listing (even for the database layer!) but I can't find ANY official documentation on how to access this API?

Here's my php webpage, how do I start using an API function?

Language: PHP
include(';my_webpage_header.php';);   //how can I access this? $phorum_api_user_authenticate(...);   include(';my_webpage_login.php';); include(';my_webpage_footer.php';);

Also, somebody mentioned there is a Phorum portable code package/folder. And so I found it in the phorum path, simply called 'portable'. But how do I use it or more importantly, its presence seems to be officially advertised nowhere, why...??

Sorry for being grumpy, but these are things that should be easily available... Actually to such an extent that I'm beginning to think I'm stupid or really overlooking something very obvious?

Any help is greatly appreciated,

/T
Re: No "official" integration tutorial anywhere??
January 28, 2010 09:56AM
There is no "one-way-fits-all" integration and there are no official docs for that but we happily accept your contribution on that.

A simple way to call the api functions is this part ...

Language: PHP
define(';phorum_page';, ';mypage';); // to avoid some warnings ...   $cwd = getcwd(); chdir(';./forum';); // or whatever your phorum dir is include_once("./common.php");   /* call whatever api function you need */   chdir($cwd);