Firefox PHP

Phorummail for Phorum 5

Posted by Brian Moon 
Re: Phorummail for Phorum 5
March 02, 2005 06:56PM
what is a .PST file?

And yes, phorummail can do all that stuff.

Brian - Cowboy Ninja Coder - Personal Blog - Twitter
March 02, 2005 07:15PM
A .pst file is the archiving file used by Microsoft Outlook. I have been archiving the emails from this maillist for a couple of years now and they can all be found in this file.

March 02, 2005 07:22PM
eeeewwwww.

good luck getting them out of there. I know you can save individual emails to files with Outlook.

Otherwise, you will have to write a parser.

Brian - Cowboy Ninja Coder - Personal Blog - Twitter
March 02, 2005 07:32PM
What is the optimal format that these emails should be in for this to work?

Thanks for all the help btw. I really appreciate it.

March 02, 2005 07:37PM
mattio Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> What is the optimal format that these emails
> should be in for this to work?
>
> Thanks for all the help btw. I really appreciate
> it.
>

As Brian said, I have each message extracted from archive-files into single files. These are 'plaintext' email-messages, with complete header, and sometimes base64 encoded attachments.
I wrote a simple script to extract the messages from the archive-files, but I guess Outlook uses compression to store the archive. You would need to get them out of there :-)

And, indeed, Phorum performs proper threading based on subject and/or message-ID. It is pretty cool to be able to finally unlock these archives in a web-searchable (and presentable) manner.

Good luck!

Luka

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/02/2005 07:58PM by luka.
March 02, 2005 08:22PM
I am looking into options for extracting the emails from a PST file into plain text files (fingers crossed).