Firefox PHP

HTML Purifier Phorum Mod: enable WYSIWYG

Posted by Ambush Commander 
HTML Purifier Phorum Mod: enable WYSIWYG
June 28, 2007 10:36PM
HTML Purifier Phorum Module

Filter Your HTML the Standards-Compliant Way!

This is my first attempt at a Phorum module, but I have made every effort to make sure that it is as bug free as possible.

The HTML Purifier Phorum Module is a module that enables raw HTML input into the forums. "Now wait!" you may be thinking, "Doesn't that pose a security risk?" Normally, yes, it would, but we are using a spiffy library (written by me) called HTML Purifier that has bullet-proof XSS protection due to its whitelist implementation. With HTML Purifier protecting your user-data, you are sure to be safe.

For plain-textarea users, we offer auto-paragraphing and linkification, so editing raw HTML is much more pleasant than normal. However, the real important thing is that HTML Purifier will enable you to embed a WYSIWYG editor with impunity! This functionality doesn't come preloaded, since I don't know what WYSIWYG editor you want to use, but that's where this library really shines. Users will be able to post lists and tables with HTML Purifier enabled!

Be sure to follow the instructions in htmlpurifier/migrate.bbcode.php to migrate your Phorum database to HTML.

Download:
- HTML Purifier Phorum Mode 2.0.1.1 (ZIP)
- HTML Purifier Phorum Mode 2.0.1.1 (TAR.GZ)

Demo: This mod is enabled on HTML Purifier's forums, you can test it out anonymously in the special Test forum

Changelog:
- 2.0.1.1: Hammered out a few more quirks regarding signatures and edit messages. You can now migrate your users signatures to HTML with one click on the Settings page, please do so if you disabled BBCode.

HTML Purifier, standards-compliant HTML filtering

Edited 4 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2007 04:46PM by Ambush Commander.
Re: HTML Purifier Phorum Mod: enable WYSIWYG
June 29, 2007 04:42PM