Firefox PHP

User Restore

Posted by Joe Curia 
User Restore
June 26, 2008 05:24AM
Your'e going to love this suggestion :)

Would it be possible to setup user deletion similar to the custom profile field deletion? Thus, when you delete a user, they are not deleted from the database but rather flagged as deleted. This would give an extremely clumsy admin the option to restore the user without having to resort to a possibly non-existant database backup (after all he was a clumsy admin). Before I go too much further, let me assure you I am not asking this out of experience as a clumsy admin, but rather out of experience as someone who has had to fix others' problems which resulted from a click-happy, everything that says ok or yes is good mentality.

To mitigate the difficulty of this addition, the deleted flag could possibly set the inactive flag as well so that a second check does not need to be added to the entire core code (though I don't know exactly how inactive users work so this may not completely hide a semi-deleted user).

Anyways, just a suggestion. Feel free to take it or leave it.


Joe Curia (aka Azumandias)
Modules: l0Admin Mass Email00000000l000000Automatic Time Zones000ll.l00000Enhanced Custom Profiles0.00Google Calendar0000l.l000000Post Previews
000000000Admin Security Suite000000000000Check Modules for Upgrades0000External Authentication000000Group Auto-Email00000.00000Private Message Alerts
000000000Attachment Download Counter0000Custom Attachment Icons000ll.ll00Favorite Forums000000.00000Highlighted Search Terms0000Self-Delete Posts Option
000000000Attachment Watermarks0l00000000Custom Language Database00l.l.0Forum Lockdown00000.00000Ignore Forums0000000000000Threaded Tree View
000000000Automatic Message Pruning00.llll.00Easy Color Scheme Manager0l.l00Forum Subscriptions0000lll000Moderated User Group
Templates:lGeneric Integration000000000 0000Simple Rounded000000 00000000Tabbed Emerald
Re: User Restore
June 26, 2008 09:27AM
Might be a nice one. I'd see this as a waste basket feature, where the user has an extra "is in garbage bin" status when deleted. The really brave admins can clean out the waste basket when they dare.

This waste basket could contain more than users alone. I think that deleted forums would be even more riskful for clickerhappy admins.

I'll create an idea ticket for it in trac.


Maurice Makaay
Phorum Development Team
my blog linkedin profile secret sauce



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/26/2008 04:48PM by Brian Moon.
Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.

Click here to login